Mathematica Centrum Mathematica Centrum
Mathematica /// Formons ensemble les mathématiciens de l'avenir
 
Home
Registration
Preparatory Tests
Answer Keys
Honour Rolls
Purchase of Questionnaires
Problems
Contact
Français
 

Download the Vade Mecum

If you wish to purchase questionnaires of past contests, please click here


All contests will be written on Wednesday April 15, 2015.


Dear Sir / Madam,

The Mathematics Contest Centre prepares some of the top mathematics competitions in North America. We are pleased to inform you that we are offering the students of your school the opportunity to participate in our contests again this year. You can register your students in seven different contests: the Thales (grade 3), Byron–Germain (grade 4), Fibonacci (grade 5), Pythagoras (grade 6), Euler (grade 7), Lagrange (grade 8), and Newton (grade 9) Contests. Since 1990, more than 1 000 000 students in Canada and the United States have participated in these contests and it is our hope that your students will participate this year.

A few years ago, UNESCO declared that learning mathematics through problem resolution activities was the most efficient way for a person to develop lasting mathematical skills and one of the best ways to prepare students to meet the challenges of the future. With this in mind, we design contests that will challenge and promote the problem solving skills of all your students. Schools who wish to receive previous contest questionnaires with detailed solutions to help them prepare their students can order them by completing the appropriate section of the registration form.

At the heart of our contests is the preparatory test (a shorter practice test which is posted on our website). The preparatory test serves 3 important functions:

Firstly : it defines the material of the students' curriculum that he or she must know to adequately prepare for the contest itself. It also defines the types of problems that will appear in the actual contest (the answers and the detailed solutions for the preparatory test will be posted in February on our website). Teachers should know that the curriculum taught varies from province to province. By means of the preparatory test, we ensure that the students of one province will not be favoured over the students of another.

Secondly : the material covered, the terms used, and the wording of the problems in the contest itself are the same as those used in the preparatory test. The students therefore can understand the meaning of each question in the actual contest and any ambiguity that might arise otherwise can be eliminated.

Thirdly : by resolving and understanding every aspect of the preparatory test, the student knows that he is preparing for the contest itself. The preparatory test is therefore a source of great motivation; students and their teachers try to imagine the problems in the actual contest that could be created from those in the preparatory test.

We hope that these contests will encourage all of your students to further develop their problem resolution skills. We look forward to your participation.

Copyright © Mathematics Contest Centre. All rights reserved. Website design by PAR Design

Mathematica Centrum Mathematica Centrum
Mathematica /// Formons ensemble les mathématiciens de l'avenir
 
Accueil
Inscription
Tests Préparatoires
Corrigés
Palmarès
Achat de Questionnaires
Problèmes
Contact
English
 

Téléchargez le Vade-Mecum

Pour inscrire votre école, appelez 514-831-5527.


Si vous voulez acheter des questionnaires des années antérieures, veuillez cliquer ici


Tous les concours auront lieu mercredi le 18 avril 2018.


Madame / Monsieur,

Le Centre des Concours Mathématiques prépare certains des meilleurs concours mathématiques en Amérique du Nord. Nous sommes heureux de vous informer que, cette année encore, nous offrons aux élèves de votre école l’opportunité de participer à nos concours. Vous pouvez les inscrire dans 7 concours différents:  Concours Thalès (3e année),  Byron-Germain (4e année), Fibonacci (5e année),  Pythagore (6e année), Euler (7e année), Lagrange (8e année) et Newton (9e année). Depuis 1990, plus de 1 000 000 d'élèves au Canada et aux États-Unis ont participé à nos concours et nous espérons que vos élèves y participeront cette année.

Il y a quelques années, l’UNESCO déclarait que la maîtrise de la résolution de problèmes représente la  compétence  que nous devons développer chez les élèves, si nous voulons qu’ils affrontent avec succès les défis de l’avenir. Avec cette idée présente à l’esprit, nous créons des concours qui développent la capacité de résolution de problèmes chez tous vos élèves. Vous pourrez utiliser les questionnaires des années antérieures (voir fiche d'inscription) comme exercices de formation pour les élèves qui participeront aux concours.

Au coeur de chacun de nos concours il y a aussi le test préparatoire (un test de pratique plus court qui apparaît sur notre site). Le test préparatoire remplit trois fonctions importantes:

Premièrement : il définit les contenus du curriculum que l'élève doit connaître pour bien se préparer pour le concours lui-même. Il donne aussi une idée assez juste des types de problèmes qui formeront le concours (les réponses et les solutions complètes de ces problèmes apparaîtront en février sur notre site). Le professeur doit savoir que le curriculum enseigné varie d'une province à l'autre. Par l'entremise du test préparatoire nous nous assurons que les élèves d'une province ne seront pas favorisés au détriment des autres.

Deuxièmement : les termes, les contenus et les formulations des problèmes utilisés dans le concours sont les mêmes que ceux du test préparatoire. Les élèves comprennent la portée de chaque question du concours et toute ambiguïté qui pourrait survenir autrement est éliminée.

Troisièmement : en s'appliquant à bien faire le test préparatoire l'élève sait bien qu'il s'engage d'une certaine manière à la préparation du concours. Le test préparatoire est donc une source de grande motivation; les élèves et leurs professeurs essaient d'imaginer les problèmes du concours qui pourraient être crées à partir de ceux du test préparatoire.

Nous espérons que nos concours encourageront vos élèves à développer encore plus leur capacité de résolution de problèmes. Dans l'espoir que vous voudrez bien participer, je vous prie d'agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Copyright © Centre des Concours Mathématiques. Tous droits réservés. Création et Design Web PAR Design